Nevada Joint Union High School District

Nevada Joint Union High School District

California Gold Ribbon Schools

Larger View
 California Distinguished School Award
Friday, May 29, the three comprehensive high schools in the Nevada Joint Union High School District received the California Distinguished School Award.

There are 2,400 middle and high schools from 170 school districts in 46 counties in the state of California, and of those schools, 341 were eligible to apply.  Only 145 high schools received these awards.

First, schools had to be invited to apply, an invitation that was based upon student achievement and test scores.  The application required schools to share in detail two “signature” practices that they feel have contributed to student success.  The invitations arrived and had to be responded to within about three weeks, which meant authoring, editing, sending them to the District Superintendent Ralf Swenson, then having them presented to the Board of Trustees.

Superintendent Ralf Swenson, Nevada Union High School Principal Marty Mathiesen, teachers Lynn McDaniel, and Chris Buti, Bear River High School Principal Jim Nieto and teacher Steve Hansen, and Ghidotti Early High School Principal Linda Quinn and teacher Noah Levinson traveled to Anaheim to attend the awards ceremonies, which included being presented with their awards by State Superintendent of Schools Jack O’Connell.


The District would like to thank local donors Mike Bratton State Farm Insurance, Plaza Tire, The Union newspaper, Plaza Tire, Ray Morgan Company, Scinto Graziano, CPA, and the Nevada County Superintendent of Schools for their generous contributions that allowed representatives from the district and high schools to attend the awards ceremony.

Photographs by David Arnold and students from the Advanced Photography Program at Nevada Union High School
Copyright © 2014 Nevada Joint Union High School District and its licensors. All rights reserved
Website Developed By CatapultK12™